Delilah the Horned Owl

Designer – Hansi Singh

This is an older project of mine, but definitely one worth sharing. I made this owl for a friend for her birthday, and she loved her. I loved her so much that I wanted to turn around and make another one for myself.. but never got around to it. The pattern is VERY well written and a nice challenge. If you’re not brushed up on your shaping, prepare yourself to look up a few quirky stitches here and there. The fuzzy areas around the beak and feet are adorable.. and I used some light hairspray to set them so they would spike better.

I found this pattern on Ravelry. If you knit or crochet and you’re not on Ravelry, you NEED to be on there. It’s addictive, but you can find pretty much whatever pattern your heart desires, yarn reviews, as well as using their chat and community functions for assistance with everything from projects to your pets. It’s incredible, and I will direct anyone who loves knit or crochet there. I adore them. There IS a waiting list to join Ravelry, but you’ll be thankful once you join when you get into those forums and see NO spam, just people talking about what they love. PLUS – you can store patterns that you’ve marked as favorites AND purchased… no more losing those paper PDFs and then your computer crashes and you’re out of luck.. I’ve gone through at least three computers since I’ve been on Ravelry, and I don’t have to sweat it. I’ve purchased this pattern, but I can print it off and shove it in my bag every time I want to knit one, so I don’t have to worry about keeping my only copy pristine.

The designer is Hansi Singh, and you can find her patterns on Ravelry as well as a few other sources. She wrote a book called Amigurumi Knits, which is full of cute patterns like this one. Her patterns are quite challenging, (not for beginners) but SO worth it. They’re unique, thanks to their intricate shaping techniques. My personal favorite pattern that she has published is her tree frog.

Cascade 220 was a great pick for this project… it’s sturdy and comes in a variety of colors. I don’t always use Cascade for toys, but I really wanted to replicate the colors that were on the pattern.

One response to “Delilah the Horned Owl

Leave a Reply

