All cabled out

The last two weeks of my life are a complete blur.. I honestly didn’t know what day it was when I woke up this morning. I’m surprised I’m actually mentally capable of cabling right how. I HAVE, however managed to crank out two projects – Sarah Gresbach’s Boot Candy and Natalie Larson’s Star Crossed Slouchy Beret.

They both turned out really great. I’ve made the slouchy hat once before for a friend. Hers was purple. It turned out so gorgeous, I wanted one for myself. It took me three years to getting around to making myself one.. but I did it! The boot cuffs are a trade project. A local photographer asked me for some knits.. I needed some Christmas card photos. It worked out well. (photos coming soon)

I used Plymouth Ultra Alpaca for the slouch hat and Lion Brand wool ease for the boot cuffs. Both worked out well. I initially bought some Berroco for the boot cuffs, but I couldn’t seem to get gauge without it being too stiff… and the Lion Brand only worked out after going down to a 10.5 needle. Both of these projects are pretty simple for cabling. They’d make GREAT first-timer projects.. and surprisingly.. they’re extremely similar.

Crafting is somewhat low on the list right now. We’ve got lots going on. I can finally actually announce that in February we’ll be moving from Murfreesboro, TN to Phoenix, AZ. I’ll be taking on some really cool opportunities with my work and husbeast and I will be experiencing life outside of our hometown. We’re very excited.. but already worn out from the work we’ve had to do to prepare.

Leave a Reply

